Lilleshall, Grasshoppers, Worfield and Albrighton make Wrekin Indoor League finals

Lilleshall and Grasshoppers will join Worfield and Albrighton at January’s Wrekin Indoor League finals night.

They finished as the top two in Group A after both claimed victories on the final night of action to finish with four wins and a defeat from their five games.

Fielding first against the Shropshire Disability side, Hoppers bowled their opponents out for 67 with the wickets shared around, and then knocked off the runs for the loss of just one wicket with Graham Trow hitting an unbeaten 28.

Lilleshall batted first in their clash with Shifnal and were aided by unbeaten knocks of 26 from Oli Todd and Alan Walker as they mustered 119-2 from their 11 overs.

In reply, Dan Aston hit an unbeaten 28 to keep Shifnal in contention, but Ian Dawes took three wickets as the Priorslee Roaders were restricted to 104-4 to give Lilleshall victory by 15 runs.

St Georges claimed victory in a low-scoring game against Harpers.

After being restricted to 75 with Kumara Bayalapudi claiming two wickets, the Dragons then dismissed their opponents for just 45 with Vivian John hitting 21 and Tom Griffiths picking up two wickets.

Albrighton finished top of Pool B with four wins out of four after victory in their final game against Wellington.

Batting first, Wellington finished on 107-3 with Simon Topper hitting an unbeaten 25 and Lewis Gough unbeaten on 16. David Morris picked up a couple of wickets.

In reply, Adam Shimmons steered Albrighton home with three balls to spare, hitting an unbeaten 31, despite Gough claiming two wickets.

The other game on the night saw Worfield claim the points after Hodnet, Peplow & Tibberton conceded to confirm the Davenport Park men as runners-up in the group.

Play-off fixtures:
Thursday, January 11 (for third, fourth and fifth-placed teams): 6.30pm SCB Disability v Lilleshall B; 7.40pm: Shifnal v Hodnet & Tibberton; 8.50pm St Georges v Wellington.

Finals night on Thursday, January 18: 6.30pm semi-final 1 Grasshoppers v Worfield; 7.40pm semi-final 2 Albrighton v Lilleshall B; 8.50pm Final winner of semi-final 1 v winner of semi-final 2.

Report: Dave Ballinger